Driver’s Responsibility Assessment
The Driver’s Responsibility Assessment (DRA) is a fine imposed by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles NYSDMV in drug and alcohol related traffic violations, a refusal to take a chemical test, as well as cases in which the motorist has received 6 or more points on their driver’s license in an eighteen month period.
The Driver’s Responsibility Assessment can be paid all at once, or over the course of three years in equal installments. For example, on a DRA for a DWI, the $750.00 assessment can be paid in one payment of $750.00, or in three annual installments of $250.00. Additionally, there is an option of paying the balance at any time after paying the minimum initial installment of one third.
For the DRA on 3 traffic violations resulting in at least 6 points within an 18 month period, the fine is $300.00, which can be paid up front, or in annual installments of $100.00 for three years. If the driver has more than 6 points, each additional point results in an additional annual assessment of $25.00 for the three years, or an additional $75.00 for the three years.
Driver’s Responsibility Assessments are for the following:
- Alcohol related traffic violations occurring on or after 11/18/04, including boats and snowmobiles;
- Drug related traffic violations occurring on or after 11/18/04, including boats and snowmobiles;
- A refusal to take a chemical test and the refusal occurred on or after 11/18/04;
- 6 or more points on a license within an 18 month period and the violations occurred in New York, Quebec or Ontario on or after 11/18/04.
No points are assessed if the driver has an out of state license but he or she must still pay the DRA, or face a suspension of driving privileges in the State of New York. Drivers from Ontario or Quebec will also be assessed the points as New York motorists are. Additionally, the assessment must be paid even if the driver does not have a license.
The Driver’s Responsibility Assessment is $750.00 for alcohol related traffic violations, drug related traffic violations and refusals to take a chemical test. The DRA is $300.00 (plus $25.00 annually for each additional point) for 6 points on a driver’s license in 18 months.
When you receive an assessment notice, the assessment must be paid within 30 days, or else a suspension of the driver’s license, permit or driving privileges will be imposed. The DRA can be paid online, in person at a DMV office, or by telephone.
If you are facing a DWI, DWAI, Driving While Ability Impaired by Drugs (DWAID), a refusal to take chemical test, or any other alcohol or drug related violation, there are serious criminal, financial and employment implications which mandate that you are represented by DWI attorneys with the experience, knowledge, dedication and background to obtain the best possible result in your case, whether by means of trial, plea bargain, or other resolution of the charges against you. Contact the Law Office of Mark A. Siesel online or toll free at 888-761-7633 without delay for your free initial consultation to discuss the charges against you, and your legal rights and options.